2015 ipda conference

A key purpose of the IPDA prize is to encourage ‘first time publication’. The nominees for this prize therefore, will not have had any work previously published in any peer reviewed academic journals.

The winner should be currently or have been recently engaged in workplace-based enquiry/research this may or may not be related to a formal dissertation or thesis.

The winning entry must demonstrate how the work undertaken informs and advances continuing professional development policy and/or practice.

The winning paper should clearly demonstrate innovative and creative thinking.

The IPDA Prize is awarded annually at our Annual Conference. The successful prize winner will:

  • be invited to receive their prize at the IPDA Annual Conference. Conference costs will be paid.
  • give a short overview of their work at the Conference Presentation and write a short article for the IPDA website.
  • receive a certificate, a cheque for £100 and one year’s membership of IPDA.

2018 Nominations

Click to download the nomination form for IPDA Prize 2018.

The deadline for IPDA Prize 2018 nominations is Friday 28 September 2018.

Current Award

IPDA Prize 2017

The IPDA prize is not only a recognition of high quality work and impact in the area of professional development and education, it is also a stepping stone to deeper development through the IPDA network, journal, regional events and conference. In 2017 it has been awarded to Dr Sacha Mason, Bishop Grosseteste University for her PhD thesis ‘Capturing the Struggle: Understanding the metacognitive strategies for academic writing of mature, work-based learners at University.’ Congratulations, Sacha!

Previous Awards

IPDA Prize 2016

The 2016 IPDA Prize was awarded to Samantha Jones for her dissertation for an MSc in Learning and Teaching at the University of Oxford entitled ‘How and how far to identities and pedagogies affect the impact of Continuous Professional Development in a Further Education College?’. Congratulations, Sam!

IPDA Prize 2015

The 2015 IPDA prize was awarded to Lorna Anderson for her master’s work with English as an Additional Language (EAL) learners at Strathclyde University. Read more about this work in our news article.

IPDA Prize 2014

The 2014 IPDA prize was awarded to Michael Lowes for his work on whether the use of teaching assistants in his school supported the school’s ethos of inclusion and developing pupil independence. Read more about Michael’s work.